Holy zombie fingers Batman…

I’ve been picking and canning cherries. We’re at nearly fifty jars – as well as two full dehydrator loads. I have fully got zombie coloured hands and it doesn’t look like that’s changing any time soon.

We froze raspberries yesterday and will be picking more tomorrow for jam.

I’ve also been picking black and red currants. There’s a labour intensive process! Holy crow. It takes forever to get any real amount of berries and then there’s making the jam. The black currants are much more labour intensive than the red. The red are going to be combined in a batch of red currant and raspberry. (Don’t worry raspberry purists, we’ll have a batch of plain as well.)

The black will be in my favourite – pure black currant jam. Yum. It’s hard work but will be totally worth it when all is said and done. Warm toast from homemade bread, butter and black currant jam with a cup of tea this winter. Oh yum!

One thought on “Holy zombie fingers Batman…

  1. Hi there
    We talked a bit back and forth over the fall / winter…I just wanted to mention that I have dealt with my share of red and black currants and this year I ordered two of the red rake thingys that Lee Valley sells for berry picking.

    I’m happy to report that I picked bushes of berries much faster than by hand with my fingers! Its not a perfect system, and you do have to develop a knack for holding the thing, but that comes pretty fast.

    Cute lambs by the way…(almost as cute as mine) haha

Leave a Reply

